

DESIGN COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING MINUTES JUNE 11, 2014

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Richard Erwin called the meeting to order at 7:05 PM in the Council Chambers, 9611 SE 36th Street, Mercer Island, Washington.

ROLL CALL:

Chair Richard Erwin, Vice-Chair Colin Brandt, Commissioners Susanne Foster, Daniel Hubbell, Tami Szerlip, and Hui Tian were present.

STAFF PRESENT:

Christina Schuck, Assistant City Attorney, and George Steirer, Principal Planner, were present.

MEETING MINUTES APPROVAL:

The Design Commission reviewed the minutes from the April 23, 2014 meeting. Commissioner Szerlip motioned to approve the minutes. Commissioner Foster seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.

REGULAR BUSINESS:

Agenda Item #1 - STUDY SESSION – Mercer Island Elementary School 4 – 4030 86th Ave SE

The Design Commission conducted the second study session and provided feedback on a new elementary school.

George Steirer, Principal Planner, provided a brief staff presentation.

JoAnn Wilcox of Mahlum, and Chris Saleeba of Cascade Design Collaborative, provided a presentation on behalf of the applicant of the study session.

The Design Commission asked questions of the applicant. The Commission provided the following comments:

- 1. Provide physical samples that illustrate the colors and materials to be used;
- 2. Consider not using any species of Birch trees;
- 3. East entrance feels a "little thin". A little more space and reach out to the road;
- 4. Consider providing an area to allow kids to dig;
- 5. Green roof needs to stay;
- 6. Provide clear illustration of all retaining walls on the property;
- 7. Address potential glare of the roof.

Agenda Item #2 - STUDY SESSION – Islander Middle School at 8225 SE 72nd St

The Design Commission conducted a study session regarding a newly designed Islander Middle School replacement project consisting of the demolition of an existing school buildings and construction of a new 78,000 square feet one and two story school building.

Steirer provided a brief staff report and noted that there are significant differences between the current design and the design presented at the February 26, 2014 study session for the same site.

David Van Galen and Amy Vanderhorst of Integrus Architecture provided a presentation on behalf of the applicant.

The Design Commission asked questions of the applicant. The Commission provided the following comments:

- 1. Concerned about transition with the commons and adjacent outside area. Address modulation requirements of the code. Columns and scale should receive extra attention;
- 2. Provide 3D rendering, especially of the long hallway. Provide illustration of how the entrance is addressed;
- 3. Provide building sections;
- 4. Illustrate connections with the other buildings (pedestrian flow), both with and without phase II;
- 5. Provide building material, colors, and all other information required to be submitted with the application (i.e. landscaping, lighting, etc.);
- 6. Show topography of the site relative to the building.

OTHER BUSINESS:

Staff had no additional comments.

There will likely be no meeting on June 25, 2014. The next regular scheduled meeting would be July 9, 2014. Commissioners Tian, Erwin, and Foster will be absent on July 9th.

The Commission voted on chair and vice chair of the Design Commission. Commissioner Erwin asked for nominations for chair. Commissioner Brandt moved to nominate Commissioner Erwin as chair of the Design Commission. Commissioner Tian seconded the motion. No other Commissioner was nominated. Commissioner Szerlip moved to vote by acclamation. Commissioner Tian seconded the motion. The Commission unanimously voted Commissioner Erwin as chair of the Design Commission.

Commissioner Szerlip moved to nominate Commissioner Brandt as vice chair. Commissioner Foster seconded the motion. No other Commissioner was nominated. Commissioner Szerlip moved to vote by acclamation. Commissioner Tian seconded the motion. The Commission unanimously voted Commissioner Brandt as vice chair of the Design Commission.

ADJOURNMENT: Chair Erwin adjourned the meeting at 9:16 PM.

Respectfully submitted, George Steirer, Principal Planner